The Rockhampton Jockey Club was established in 1868. The racecourse provided the early settlers of Rockhampton with an opportunity to socialise and it was not uncommon for thousands to flock to the race course on race day. Over the years, Callaghan Park has continued to attract crowds of enthusiastic race goers keen to experience the thrill of a race day.

Throughout its history, Callaghan Park has played host to many illustrious jockeys including Mick Dittman and Ken Russell and in more recent times, Hugh Bowman, Michael Rodd and Chris Munce. The calibre of race horses venturing to Rockhampton for the Rockhampton Cup Carnival held annually in June has ensured that Callaghan Park Racecourse is very much regarded as the hub of racing in Central Queensland.


Chairman: Robert  Carr

Deputy Chairman: John Siganto

Treasurer: Jeff Leaver

Committee: Wendy Mulry, David Peel,  Mel Slade, Bruce Watts, Shane Warner, Jonathon Offord,


CEO – Tony Fenlon

Finance: Leesa Olive

Race Day, Functions and Events Co-ordinator: Kelly Suli

Media/Communications: Darryn Nufer