The Rockhampton Jockey Club was established in 1868.

The racecourse provided the early settlers of Rockhampton with an opportunity to socialise and it was not uncommon for thousands to flock to the race course on race day. Over the years, Callaghan Park has continued to attract crowds of enthusiastic race goers keen to experience the thrill of a race day.

Throughout its history, Callaghan Park has played host to many illustrious jockeys including Mick Dittman and Ken Russell and in more recent times, Hugh Bowman, Michael Rodd, Chris Munce and William Pike.

The calibre of thoroughbreds venturing to the city for the Rockhampton Cup Carnival held annually in July has ensured that Callaghan Park Racecourse is very much regarded as the hub of racing in Central Queensland.

Rockhampton Jockey Club Board

Chairman: Mr Robert Carr
Treasurer: Mr John McDevitt
Committee: Mr David Peel, Mr Chris Dodson, Mrs Wendy Mulry, Mr William Ouston, Mr Brandon Diplock and Mr Jack Duncan

Rockhampton Jockey Club Team

CEO: Mr David Aldred
Finance Manager: Mrs Cerise Naske
Track/Course Manager: Mr Trent Williams
Trackwork Supervisors: Mr Gary Fisher/Mr Russell Leonard