RJC Premiership Awards Evening – Article By Tony McMahon

Published 7 January 2022

RJC Premiership Awards Evening – Article By Tony McMahon

Back to News

2022-01-08 PREMIERS

The Rockhampton Jockey Club’s presentation evening for premiership winners for last season will take place at Callaghan Park racecourse on Thursday, January 27.

Proceedings will commence at 6pm in the Members Lounge which overlooks the parade yard that will be floodlit for the night.

A cash bar will be in operation with the RJC’s operations manager Kelly Suli advising that light refreshments will be provided.

It is hoped that a significant proportion of racegoers in attendance for the afternoon’s TAB race meeting at Callaghan Park that day will stay on for the awards celebrations.

The premiership winning trainer for the 2020-21 Rockhampton racing season was Ricky Vale who produced 19 Callaghan Park winners as well as 29 placegetters.

Brisbane based Ryan Wiggins took out the premier jockey title by winning 34 races at Callaghan Park while he also rode 29 placegetters.

Former premier Rockhampton trainer, the now Sunshine Coast based Garnett Taylor with 11 winners took out the title for the trainer with the best strike rate.

Elyce Smith won the leading Rockhampton apprentice jockey for last season with 14 winners while riding 21 winners as well.

Smith no longer rides in races as she is following a career as a school teacher in the Central Highlands.

The RJC Horse of the Year crown was won by the Lyle Wright trained Mystery Element.

The recipients for the awards will be presented with their trophies on the night which will also feature a gala auction of significant racing memorabilia items.

Proceeds from the auction will go towards an appeal for Rockhampton trainer Craig Russell who underwent multiple life changing surgery in Brisbane some months ago.

Among the memorabilia is a set of multiply autographed jockey’s silks that three times winning Melbourne Cup hoop Kerrin McEvoy utilised when he rode in the 2019 feature.

“A full list of items that will be auctioned is in the process of being completed. There are some great items among them for the racing enthusiast. I feel the memorabilia auction will be an added incentive for the evening and a nice draw card”, Kelly Suli said.

2020/21 RJC Jockeys scoreboard:

Ryan Wiggins 34; Justin Stanley 26; Ashley Butler 25; Chris Whiteley 17; Matthew McGillivray 16; Elyce Beak 14; Adam Sewell 13; Nathan Day 11; Marnu Potgieter 9 and Beau-Dene Appo 6.


Ricky Vale 19; Jared Wehlow 15; Adrian Coome 15; Clinton Taylor 13; Nick Walsh 12; Tom Button 11; Garnett Taylor 11; Kerrod Smyth 9; Kevin Miller 8 and Tom Smith 7.



Back to News

Back to Top